from
$169 / night
Price for guests, Nights approx:

The Old Grocery at Bay House – Home 4630560 Cottage

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

The Old Grocery at Bay House – Home 4630560

  • Cottage
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 25 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Cottage / 3 bedrooms / 3 bathrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Ask about pets
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

The Old Grocery is situated on the upper high street Broadway and has recently been refurbished (July 2014) to a very high level giving en-suites to each bedroom with one containing a roll-top bath.

It has a large lounge and dining room and a good kitchen. We switch the lounge and dining room around from winter to summer. This allows for a cosy living room in the winter with wood burner in the middle room and then in the summer to take advantage of the light nights, in the front room.

The yard/garden at the rear is well set out and is a sun-trap as it is south facing. Lovely to return on a evening to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine or what ever takes your fancy.

There are 3 bedrooms consisting of a twin room (two single beds) with en-suite shower, and a double room again with en-suite shower. Both these are on the first floor. The attic room is has a double bed (and bed settee if required) with en-suite bathroom with roll-top-bath which is a real feature of the house.

The Old Grocery is part of Bay House and was a Grocery and food store until the late 1970's. It was likened to a "Fortnum and Masons" by someone who worked there.

The house has been recently refurbished with a modern feel but retaining many of the old features which gives a lovely balance. Both Lounge and Dining room are beamed. The middle room which is the dining room in the summer and living room in the winter has a large fire place with wood /multi fuel burner for that cosy feel.

Broadway is a beautiful village and The Old Grocery is perfectly situated being minutes walk to the first pub and shops including deli, art galleries, gift shops and a Budgens for a medium size shop.

The Grocery, like it's sister property, The Old house, is unique in the village having en-suite for every bedroom and parking on the frontage.

There is a SMART TV which gives access to the internet (YouTube, Netflix etc) and catchup TV.

There is a DVD player and some DVD's for those nights that you wish to stop in.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • High chair

Bed & bathroom

  • 2 Full beds, 1 Sofa beds, 2 Twin beds
  • 3 En suites

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • Patio
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Stove
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • High chair
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Interaction with guest

Booking Process ========= To allow me to keep my costs down I have chosen to remain as a "subscription owner" within holidaylettings/Tripadvisor. I pay an annual fee to advertise This means that you will not face any booking fees if you book with me. Other owners have taken the view to become a "Free Listing owner". this means that with these properties you will be charged a booking fee of between 9-16% and the owner a 3% fee. When you contact me regarding booking, the control of payments is done by me whereas "Free listings" are controlled by holidaylettings/Tripadvisor. I am trialing this new "subscription" process as from February 2018 and hope your booking experience is easy. Any observations you have would be gratefully received.

Policies

Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

About the owner

Greg J D.
Average reply time:
2 hours 40 minutes
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
24 Apr 2019
Years listed:
6
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent
25 reviews

Excellent
21
Very Good
4
Good
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Lovely stay”

Reviewed 26 Aug 2018

Lovely stay. Perfect location. Everything you need for a great break, nicely decorated and spacious. Owner very accommodating.

Response from the owner Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated.

“Beautiful Cottage”

Reviewed 9 Aug 2017

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Broadway. The village is beautiful and "The Old Grocery" is in a perfect location at the top of the high street, a 10 minute stroll from the centre. The accommodation is superb, very well equipped and well presented. It's is very spacious and the bedrooms are a good size, all of which are en-suit. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone who is looking to stay in Broadway and we hope to visit again next year.

Response from the owner Louise, Thank you for you lovely review. And yes we would very much welcome you back!

“Comfortable peaceful cottage”

Reviewed 23 Jun 2016

I visited Broadway with two friends on a garden and gallery getaway break! We found The Old Grocery clean, comfortable and located on a very quiet and pretty road. It was great to have the outside space as we were lucky enough to experience a heatwave! We were but a few minutes walk away from all the great amenities of Broadway - including really nice shops and galleries, fab pubs for our evening meals, and an amazing deli. There are countless pretty villages within a short drive and at least four wonderful gardens equally close. We all really enjoyed our stay.

Review 1-10 of 25

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Greg J (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Greg J (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Greg J (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I know my booking is safe?

You'll need to send Greg J (the owner) an enquiry to book - the owner will let you know how to pay. If they accept online booking they'll send you a quote and info on how to pay. If you pay through our website you’ll be covered by Payment Protection.

If they don’t accept online booking they'll still be able to offer a secure form of payment. Read our top tips on booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Select the Prices tab for an overview of this property's prices.

Or you can send Greg J (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form to request a quote. Greg j (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Send Greg J (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form requesting a quote for your holiday dates. Greg j (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

Please note: only bookings paid for through our site are covered by Payment Protection.
Find out more about booking safely.

How do damage deposits work?

Greg j (the owner) of this property is responsible for taking and refunding your damage deposit. The damage deposit terms should be agreed before booking and outlined in the booking contract, if Greg J (the owner) supplies one. Please refer to these details or contact Greg J (the owner) directly if you have any questions.

How do I cancel my booking?

You'll need to contact Greg J (the owner) to cancel. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

How do I edit my booking?

You'll need to contact Greg J (the owner) to edit your booking. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

West Country

14,415 properties

Northern England

8,994 properties

South East England

6,659 properties

Cornwall

6,509 properties

London

5,805 properties

Devon

4,739 properties

Yorkshire

4,193 properties

East Anglia

3,226 properties

Cumbria

2,266 properties

Greater London

2,171 properties

Sussex

2,044 properties

Dorset

1,847 properties

East Sussex

1,386 properties

Somerset

1,320 properties

Cotswolds

1,241 properties

Isle of Wight

1,147 properties

Kent

1,078 properties

Lincolnshire

1,043 properties

Northumberland

1,041 properties

Hampshire

826 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.